HomeAbout UsCalendarEnsemblesDirectorsMentorsMusiciansLinksMediaPlay It Forward
MusicUSTREAMRehearsalsEnsembletsFAQNH ApparelRegisterSupport UsfacebookContact Us

Eastman - Rochester New Horizons Music
The Birthplace of New Horizons.  Founded in 1991 by Dr. Roy Ernst, Eastman School of Music, Rochester, NY
Student Mentor:  Saxophones  
Director:  New Horizons Sax Ensemble
Nicki Roman
Nicki Roman is regarded as a highly active, diverse and emerging concert saxophonist. Most recently, she was named 1 of 8 finalists in the 2016 Pershing’s Own National Collegiate Solo Competition and was awarded 2nd prize in the 2015 National Music Teacher’s National Association (MTNA) Young Artist Solo Competition and the 2014 North American Saxophone Alliance (NASA) National Solo Competition.

As an educator, Nicki has held the coveted position of saxophone teaching assistant at the Eastman School of Music and the University of Illinois, where she taught saxophone methods courses, coached chamber music and taught applied saxophone. She has also served on the faculty at the Eastman Summer Saxophone Institute (ESSI) and the Illinois Summer Youth Music Camps (ISYM). Her students have gone on to win prestigious competitions and awards such as the the Thomas J. Smith Scholarship Competition and the John Phillip Sousa Award. During past summers, she has served on staff at the Interlochen Arts Camp and the Brevard Music Center.

Having performed across North America, Europe and Asia, Nicki has shared solo and chamber music performances at numerous venues throughout the globe. She has presented solo performances at the Krannert Center for Performing Arts, Rio All-Suite Casino and Hotel in Las Vegas, NV, Brevard Summer Music Festival, Université Européenne de Saxophone, Eastman School of Music, University of Illinois, University of North Florida and the University of South Florida. She has given concerto performances with the Northwest Florida Symphony Orchestra, the University of North Florida Orchestra and was a finalist for the 2015 Sinfonia da Camera Concerto Competition. As a member of the Eastman Saxophone Project (ESP), she has given performances in Asia at the Shanghai Summer Saxophone Camp, the APBDA conference at Beijing’s National Center for Performing Arts and at Shandong University of Arts.

Nicki has held the soprano saxophone chair of the Fuego Quartet and the Alaric Saxophone Quartet. Alaric competed as finalists in the Coleman Chamber Music Competition in Pasadena, CA and were featured soloists in Michael Colgrass’ Urban Requiem at the 2015 College Band Director’s National Association Conference in Nashville, TN. Currently, she is a member of the Fuego Quartet whom have been featured artists at the Strong National Museum of Play, The George Eastman Museum, Dorris Carlson Reading Garden, The Washington Square Concert Series and [Col][lab]. Most recently, they were selected as winners of the 2015 Honors Chamber Music Competition at the Eastman School of Music and were semi-finalists in the 2016 North American Saxophone Alliance Quartet Competition. A strong advocate for new music, Nicki is a core member of Møthertung Ensemble, a new music trio whom is dedicated to premiering new works for piano, saxophone and drumset. She has also worked and collaborated with the [Switch~ Ensemble], Ossia New Music and the Illinois Modern Ensemble.

Nicki is the first classical saxophonist to be a recipient of the Kate Neal Kinley Memorial Fellowship and is currently pursuing a Doctor of Musical Arts Degree with a certificate in Collegiate Music Teaching under the direction of Chien-Kwan Lin. At Eastman, she is a saxophone teaching assistant and teaches at the Eastman Community Music School (ECMS) and the New Horizons Program. She is a graduate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where she received her MM in Performance and Literature while studying with Debra Richtmeyer. Prior to that, she completed her undergraduate studies in performance at the University of North Florida (UNF) Music Flagship Program, where she was the first recipient to receive the Most Outstanding Musician Award all four years. Ms. Roman has also been the recipient of the George E. MacNaab Scholarship, A.A. Harding Band Award, John Philip Sousa Award and is an active member of NASA and Mu Phi Epsilon. Her primary teachers have been Chien-Kwan Lin, Debra Richtmeyer, Dale Underwood, Joseph Lulloff, Michael Bovenzi and Bunky Green.